close

Lacuna Blend

4 beans

This coffee is rated by 65 Customer Reviews

Posted by Steve A | Sun Apr 11 22:24:18 CDT 2010

4 beans

This is surprising. A new flavor sensation. Has a lot of good qualities of a dark coffee without a heavy aftertaste.

Posted by Chuck Herbst | Tue Apr 13 18:40:28 CDT 2010

5 beans

I thought "Obsidian" was dark until I had this. Really quite wonderful.

Posted by Brian (Bean Guy at Caribou) | Wed Apr 14 10:13:56 CDT 2010

5 beans

Lacuna has a rich and robust body with miles of sweetness from the natural Ethiopian. We contrast the intensity of the cup with Guatemala, providing a delicate acidic touch. Holding the blend together is a Central American that adds body and sweetness without competing for dominance. Together these coffees create the unique, oaky quality of a fine bourbon.

Posted by danjukic | Thu Apr 15 16:05:41 CDT 2010

3 beans

Just had Lacuna for the first time today and I really liked it. I like dark but not too-dark and Lacuna hit the spot. For example, Mahogany is a little too roasted and, well, woody for my tastes. I like that Lacuna held up to cream and retained its body without tasting burnt. It was surprisingly bright for a dark roast. Well done, Brian and crew!

Posted by cmking | Mon Apr 26 15:03:48 CDT 2010

5 beans

This is a smooth tasting dark roast that is still full-bodied. This has become my new favorite!

Posted by Paul | Thu Apr 29 09:56:34 CDT 2010

5 beans

Very deep, rich flavor. Wonderful!

Posted by Nick W | Sat May 01 00:11:01 CDT 2010

5 beans

People really seem to latch onto this blend, especially if they are obsidian lovers. It's a bit more complex than obsidian, no disrespect to obsidian though, for it's gained it's rights in the Caribou dark roast line-up. 662, represent!

Posted by Mike | Sun May 02 07:36:52 CDT 2010

5 beans

This is a very unique coffee. I can't say I have had anything like it before.

Posted by Tami | Tue May 04 12:06:58 CDT 2010

4 beans

I purchased it as a trial considering the 100% Rainforest cert. I got lucky it has been my favorite so far.

Posted by Florence Naeve | Mon May 17 10:28:52 CDT 2010

5 beans

Smooth and delicious from the first cup brewed to the very last in the pot. A most welcome addition to the family of dark roasts.

Posted by Melissa Jensen | Tue May 18 08:48:17 CDT 2010

5 beans

Excellant, a stronger blend but not bitter. Full of favor.

Posted by Andris | Tue May 18 08:50:45 CDT 2010

5 beans

Terrific flavor for a dark roast, my wife and I both really liked it and I buy it regularly now.

Posted by Frank | Tue Jun 01 14:40:48 CDT 2010

5 beans

This has got to be one of the best coffees that I have ever tasted. This is a dark blend that has a flavor burst that is as intense as it is mellow. I true treat to yourself and one that I must have whenever I stop at Caribou. Give it a try, I bet money that it will be one that you do not regret!

Posted by bathrobegoddess | Tue Jun 08 10:23:28 CDT 2010

5 beans

This is a wonderfully smooth dark roast with a lot of character.

Posted by KasiaN | Tue Jun 08 10:49:54 CDT 2010

5 beans

Absolutely LOVE this one!! Have to say it's my fav. It is a stronger coffee so if you like light coffees, this is not for you.

Posted by Steven Surges | Tue Jun 08 15:31:03 CDT 2010

5 beans

I like this too. It is not overpowering, but has flavor

Posted by Pattie | Fri Jun 18 07:49:58 CDT 2010

5 beans

mmmm...

Posted by Barbara | Sat Jun 19 10:22:48 CDT 2010

5 beans

It's just REALLY good!

Posted by Barbara | Sat Jun 19 10:23:29 CDT 2010

5 beans

Bought it on sale and have kept buying it. VERY good!!

Posted by Deb Best | Mon Jun 21 15:35:25 CDT 2010

5 beans

Wonderful, smooth, chocolately, my new favorite!!

Posted by stephan | Tue Jun 22 22:18:40 CDT 2010

5 beans

I like bourbon interesting woody notes.

Posted by Beth Hardy | Thu Jun 24 10:02:14 CDT 2010

5 beans

It is AWESOME! Love the flavor.

Posted by Tim Halula | Sat Jul 17 21:19:52 CDT 2010

5 beans

One of the best roasts to come out in a long time. Keep up the great work Caribou Coffee.

Posted by Alicia | Mon Jul 19 13:52:54 CDT 2010

5 beans

I love Caribou's espresso (I make myself a Latte nearly every day with it), I but wanted to try using another type of coffee to make lattes. So, I ordered the Lacuna in espresso grind. I made a latte this morning: it was amazing! The description of the coffee says "heavy cacao" notes in the flavor. The latte tasted like a cafe mocha! There was a definite flavor of chocolate in the coffee and it had a very smooth finish.

I love cafe mochas but I'm concerned about the calories, so I usually have lattes. The chocalaty finish to the latte made it a great treat.

Posted by Mike Trudeau | Tue Jul 27 13:52:11 CDT 2010

5 beans

I love it

Posted by Josepha | Fri Aug 13 09:22:30 CDT 2010

5 beans

This is a wonderful blend. I've tried most of the Caribou coffees, and Lacuna is my favorite. I recently found myself drinking some "grocery store coffee" and it just made me appreciate my Lacuna all the more.

Posted by Jack | Mon Aug 23 18:59:50 CDT 2010

5 beans

The best!

Posted by Catherine Coffman | Tue Sep 21 21:20:23 CDT 2010

5 beans

awesome coffee strong but not bitter or acidic

Posted by Ed | Thu Oct 28 19:24:25 CDT 2010

5 beans

Excellent blend

Posted by Mary | Wed Nov 10 12:20:41 CST 2010

5 beans

I love how smooth this blend is for a dark roast coffee. I usually drink a lighter roast, like Guatemala El Paraiso,Kneya,Colombia Timana,or Lakeshore Blend. I love Caribou Coffee.

Posted by Mario | Wed Jan 19 14:14:02 CST 2011

5 beans

Best ever coffee.

Posted by Don | Sun Feb 06 23:26:29 CST 2011

4 beans

I love this new blend. It's not as strong as the Obsidian, but still brews a lovely dark cup for an everyday AM greeting.

Posted by Martha Roope | Tue Feb 15 08:19:14 CST 2011

5 beans

Exquisite flavor and aroma. THE best coffee I have ever had. Full bodied. For the first time ever, I can actually taste the notes of flavor that are "advertised". I enjoy EVERY drop.

Posted by rc concepcion | Sun Feb 27 20:21:59 CST 2011

1 bean

Man pains me to even write it, but I ordered a couple of pounds of coffee not too long ago from Caribou online, and I figured it be good to try their Lacuna. My tastes can run from Fireside (which was my all time fave) to Obsidian.. so I figured it had to hit in the middle.

Im about half a pound, desperately trying to find some redeeming value in it. Every time I make it and drink it, there is this really bad aftertaste that you can feel right in the back of your jaw. Dont know if this could be a bad batch, and i'd be more than happy to rescind the review.. but man oh man is this brutal. I've been going back to it just to see if It was just me and if i can get used to the taste.. but alas no.

Sorry guys.. love you to pieces.. but this one just isn't doing it.

RC

Posted by denny | Thu Mar 17 12:21:33 CDT 2011

1 bean

The best!

Posted by Duane S | Tue Mar 22 06:43:53 CDT 2011

4 beans

I love this coffee. It has deep flavor without being too bitter or acidic. Please don't mess with this coffee like you have some of the other blends!

Posted by Sandi | Wed Apr 13 11:42:12 CDT 2011

5 beans

This is by far the most flavorful blend I have tried thus far!! I do hope this is not just a limited time flavor...

Posted by Alison | Thu May 05 18:39:04 CDT 2011

5 beans

This is my absolute favorite coffee of all time. The Lacuna blend is so rich and deliciously smooth. I live in Seattle and order this online (no Caribou in Seattle unfortunately) to get the best possible coffee. Thanks Caribou!

Posted by Lisa | Tue Jul 12 11:46:21 CDT 2011

5 beans

This coffee is smooth and gives me the same feeling that I get when I have a cup of rich hot cocoa. Its a treat for a long day at the office.

Posted by donna | Mon Jun 20 17:50:43 CDT 2011

5 beans

this coffee is so good, I can even taste the different flavors mentioned in its description - like the cherry, cocoa, and the bourbon as well. It's really delicious!

Posted by Colleen | Sat Aug 20 17:11:41 CDT 2011

5 beans

the best coffee I have ever tasted.

Posted by Tammy Rowe | Thu Jun 23 06:39:45 CDT 2011

5 beans

Another Great blend

Posted by Juniper | Tue Aug 16 15:46:42 CDT 2011

5 beans

Delicious hot, but makes a truly extraordinary cold press iced coffee. My absolute favorite.

Posted by SDCat | Tue Aug 30 08:07:01 CDT 2011

5 beans

Tried this coffee last week in Atlanta - it brewed a delicious cup of dark roast. Everyone enjoyed it!

Posted by Sharm | Sat Oct 08 14:45:48 CDT 2011

5 beans

this is the best coffee i have ever had! very smooth and rich...

Posted by TG | Mon Oct 10 15:55:47 CDT 2011

5 beans

My new favorite!

Posted by jim | Tue Dec 20 09:39:10 CST 2011

5 beans

great bold flavor

Posted by cindy | Fri Jan 27 06:22:03 CST 2012

5 beans

this is the best coffe. great falvor

Posted by Ashley | Thu Jun 14 07:39:24 CDT 2012

5 beans

I really enjoyed the flavor.

Posted by Jodi | Tue Jan 10 17:10:46 CST 2012

5 beans

love Love LOVE this coffee! Dark & smooth - perfect

Posted by mandohack | Sat Mar 24 07:43:44 CDT 2012

5 beans

This coffee nails it! Let this coffee settle over the tongue and you find toffee-flavored sweetness. There is not a hint of acidity, just simple smoothness.

Posted by Rayne Krebsbach | Thu May 03 10:00:23 CDT 2012

2 beans

This is reminiscent of the classic truck-stop diner coffee. Though it's fun to reminisce about summer road trips or all-night cramming sessions, this coffee only good in small doses. Too acidic for my taste, I can feel my stomach gurgling as I near the end of my medium coffee. Definitely my least favorite Caribou roast.

Posted by Rayne Krebsbach | Thu May 03 10:00:51 CDT 2012

2 beans

This is reminiscent of the classic truck-stop diner coffee. Though it's fun to reminisce about summer road trips or all-night cramming sessions, this coffee only good in small doses. Too acidic for my taste, I can feel my stomach gurgling as I near the end of my medium coffee. Definitely my least favorite Caribou roast.

Posted by Susan | Fri Jul 13 17:58:03 CDT 2012

5 beans

It's got a great flavor, full, rich but never bitter. Even the unground beans are beautiful!

Posted by ponderquest | Sun Oct 07 15:44:01 CDT 2012

3 beans

Not as flavorful ("deep cherry and cocoa notes") as I expected.

Posted by ponderquest | Sun Oct 07 15:44:22 CDT 2012

3 beans

Not as flavorful ("deep cherry and cocoa notes") as I expected.

Posted by Philip | Mon Oct 22 16:00:52 CDT 2012

4 beans

I really enjoy the complex flavors of this coffee. The cherry notes caught me off guard. (I know - the description says it's there - but I didn't expect the vividness of it!) It has seemed to be less flavorful since the first few times I tried it. I'm not sure whether it's the way the local 'Bou brews it. It shouldn't be. I would give this five beans except I keep hoping for a repeat of the first 3-4 times I had it, and haven't quite had that good, vivid taste again since.

Posted by Rick | Sat Dec 01 07:09:01 CST 2012

5 beans

Great Taste, Great price.

Posted by Rick | Sat Dec 01 07:12:09 CST 2012

5 beans

My favorite, great taste, great price.

Posted by teresa | Thu Aug 23 09:06:04 CDT 2012

1 bean

I hate this coffee, it taste like licorice and the bourbon is very overbearing.

Posted by Jim | Sat Nov 10 18:06:55 CST 2012

1 bean

I expected to like this one as I like most of your dark roasts. But, something odd here kills the taste. You guys should try a chicory coffee instead of this one.

Posted by C H | Sun Nov 04 05:27:55 CST 2012

5 beans

Wonderful blend! Never reviewed before - so happy to have tried it!

Posted by C H | Sun Nov 04 05:28:12 CST 2012

5 beans

Wonderful blend! Never reviewed before - so happy to have tried it!

Posted by K | Tue Jan 29 09:33:59 CST 2013

5 beans

One of their best blends. Very surprised and dismayed to see this discontinued. Still have not been given an explanation as to why.

Posted by T | Fri Aug 30 09:41:17 CDT 2013

5 beans

Mmmmm tasty! I really like and can appreciate this blend!Each sip goes down smooth!